يا عصفور حبيبتي المدلل

يا عصفورَ حبيبتي المدلل
يا رفيقَ لُعبِهَا

ويا من [حبيبتي] تُوسِّدْكَ بحُضْنِها
لتداعبَ منقاركَ الحادّ
برقَّةِ أناملِهَا

لعلّ، حبيبتي، تلاعِبْكَ كلّما اشتاقت لي
لتُطفِئَ نار أشواقِها

آهٍ، ليتني ألعبُ معكَ بالمثلِ
لعلّ أنا أيضًا
أطفئُ نار أشواقٍ إليها

لـ كاتولوس.. شاعر روماني (٨٤ ق.م – ٥٤ ق.م)

ترجمتها بتصرف من ١- ترجمة إنجليزية حرفية للنص اللاتيني

Sparrow, the pet of my girlfriend,
with whom she usually plays, whom in her lap she holds, to whom she gives over her fingertip to your pecking and provokes your sharp bites.
When it pleases her shining with longing for me
to make some quaint joke,
and a little solace for her own anguish,
I suppose, so that then this heavy passion subsides; Could I but play with you as she
and ease the sad feelings of my soul!

Translation Copyright © 1993-2003 By Ulysses K. Vestal

ومن ٢- ترجمة أخرى بالإنجليزية بتصرف

Sparrow, my Lesbia’s darling pet,
Her playmate whom she loves to let
Perch in her bosom and then tease
With tantalising figertips,
Provoking angry little nips
(For my bright beauty seems to get
A kind of pleasure from these games,
Even relief, this being her way,
I think, of damping down the flames
Of passion), i wish i could play
Silly games with you, too, to ease
My worries and miseries.

(Translated by James Mitchie)

وهذا النص الأصلي باللغة اللاتينية

Passer, deliciae meae puellae,
quicum ludere, quem in sinu tenere, cui primum digitum dare appetenti
et acris solet incitare morsus,
cum desiderio meo nitenti
carum nescioquid lubet iocari,
et solaciolum sui doloris,
credo, ut tum gravis acquiescat ardor; tecum ludere sicut ipsa possem
et tristis animi levare curas!

Catullus (48 B.C – 54 B.C)

Leave a comment